CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost) is a measure presenting the cost of acquiring a new customer. This is the quotient of costs incurred for promotional activities to the number of new customers.
You can calculate it according to the formula:
For example, if you invest £500 on Facebook and Google Ads, and gain 10 new customers in this way, the CAC is £50.
Is this a lot? It depends. The CAC value should be related to the realities of the business and to the LTV index, i.e. to the client’s lifetime value. LTV allows us to estimate how much profit we will gain thanks to the new consumer in a given period of time.
The cost of customer acquisition can also be calculated for each marketing channel individually – for email marketing campaigns, Google Ads or social media ads. Then we will receive accurate information on which promotion channel works effectively and supports sales in your e-commerce, which needs to be optimised or completely abandoned.
If you know which marketing communication channels in your e-commerce have the lowest CAC, it’s worth doubling your expenses. The allocation of the marketing budget to channels with a lower CAC value allows you to attract more customers while maintaining a fixed budget amount.